The river came to me by Geeta Roopnarine

“I think water heals. It speaks to my skin when I am in the sea. It tells stories but I cannot understand clearly as I have lost its language. It sometimes flirts with me when I am in the sea and asks me what I am afraid of.”


The zine is £7 (+ UK p&p) – click the button below.
Contact sehymas @ gmail dot com for European postage rates.
Or why not buy the bargain bundle of 2022 zines at the zine shop.

Your alt text here

“According to Buddha, our life is shaped by our mind: we become what we think. In eastern philosophy, a mandala is a spiritual symbol which, by focusing on, one could be guided to transform one’s way of being. I believe poems are a kind of mandala. We had a river at the bottom of our village, overhung with tall bamboo fronds. My childhood was spent interacting and learning from nature.This is my real world, not one of concrete and steel. I believe it’s important for the deep core of our self to engage with nature as it forms the bedrock of who we are.”

“My watercolours are interspersed within the zine and I chose the concertina as I imagined it as a sculptural art object. In this zine, my themes include water, our interaction with the natural world, and what it means to be human in this world.”

Geeta Roopnarine is an interdisciplinary artist and writer whose work spans the intersection of art, science and technology. She is interested in the idea of memory and how it transforms, the interconnectedness of things and the heterotopic ‘otherness’ of space. Her history includes diverse cultures such as Indian, Trinidadian and Greek and she draws upon the images, myths and philosophy of these backgrounds to create works in response to the mind-body ‘dichotomy’ and the architectural space inhabited in this world. Geeta Roopnarine was born in Trinidad and Tobago and lives in Athens. She has taken part in art exhibitions in London, Athens and New York.